People smiling



Michael Yasick

The Michael Yasick ADHD Scholarship by Shire recognizes and supports individuals diagnosed with ADHD in the US who are pursuing higher education. The Scholarship includes a $2,000 tuition payment and a prepaid year of ADHD coaching from the Edge Foundation to assist in meeting the challenges of higher education. Twenty-five recipients will be selected in 2018. Shire, a global specialty biopharmaceutical company, sponsors the Scholarship as part of its work to support patients with ADHD, their families, and the professionals who help them.

The Shire 2018 ADHD Scholarship is named in memory of Mike Yasick, a Senior Executive at Shire whose vision made the Shire ADHD Scholarship Program possible. Mike was inspired by the “thousands of high school seniors, college students, and adults going on to higher education who are diagnosed with ADHD” and envisioned the Scholarship as a way “to recognize the brave individuals who work hard to overcome the challenges of this life-altering condition, and help them continue their educational pursuits.” Mike put patients at the center of his leadership philosophy, an approach that earned him numerous awards and distinguished his 22-year career in the pharmaceutical industry, including his 9 years at Shire.

Scholarship Now Open to Graduate Students - In 2017, the Michael Yasick ADHD Scholarship by Shire was opened to eligible students who are accepted to or enrolled in graduate programs in the United States (US), in addition to undergraduate students.


Press Kit – Michael Yasick ADHD Scholarship by Shire

To get the facts about the Shire ADHD Scholarship program, view the 2018 press kit. Find the company background, testimonials from award recipients, Frequently Asked Questions, and a recent press release.

Click here to view the complete Rules and Regulations

ADHD Scholarship Recipients*

2018 Recipient List

Greyson Greene
Oklahoma Baptist University
Jay Copperman
William and Mary
Stanisha Wray
St. Mary's College of Maryland
Adewole Travitt-Lee
Morehouse College
Claire Bowman
Louisiana State University
Rebekah Rosman
Boston University
Kaydee Ecker
The University of Iowa
Paige Watts
University of Northern Colorado
Karina Conner
Youngstown State University
Emily Payne
Brigham Young University Hawaii
Charles Longenecker
The University of Alabama
Kelly Mariska
University of Pittsburgh
Carter Trousdale
William and Mary
Elizabeth Cox
Samford University
Yekaterina Glazko
University of Southern California
Dana Hodde
University of Alabama at Birmingham

* Award recipients who chose to opt out of publicity are not listed above.

"Most of my life I have been battling ADHD on my own. College would prove difficult for me, but when I got this scholarship, I felt like I finally had some help."

Jeremy Waldron
Closter, NJ

Olivia Langerhans
Rowan University

Isaac Thompson
University of Arkansas

Callie Lack
Bradley University

Zachary Elvove
Northwestern University

Rachel Best
Gonzaga University